God apparently a group of anti trans activists are leading london pride because of a hijack and the people shouting at them and telling them to fuck off are the ones almost being arrested and told to move on by the police. Fuck cops. They don’t belong at pride and they don’t make the people who do feel safe.
Since I haven’t seen any posts about this apart from a handful of British people I follow on Twitter, a group of TERFs were allowed to lead London pride today. Here is a link to the PinkNews article detailing the events. They somehow managed to get to the front of the parade, ahead of the London mayor Sadiq Khan and lead for around 5 to 10 minutes, before stopping and lying down in the road refusing to move and disrupting the parade as the directors tried to negotiate again. They were then allowed to lead the parade without security or the parade directors stopping them. When trans people in the crowd protested their presence they were approached by the police marching with the group and told to stop or they would be asked to leave.
This is not pride, this is not a place where people can feel safe and this is not a place cops should be allowed to threaten trans people to defend transphobia.
This is the same pride that wouldn’t allow trans women to use the women’s toilets 10 years ago, it lead to a trans woman being sexually assaulted as a result.